Iowa basketball star Caitlin Clark wins James E. Sullivan Award


We’re less than two months away from Caitlin Clark’s senior season at Iowa, yet she’s still winning awards for the show she put on last season.

Tuesday, Clark was named the winner of the 93rd AAU James E. Sullivan Award at a ceremony in New York. The award has been presented annually since 1930 to the most outstanding athlete at the collegiate or Olympic level in the United States.

Clark joins Spencer Lee (2019) as the only University of Iowa athletes to win the award. She beat out LSU baseball’s Dylan Crews, Olympic gymnast Jordan Chiles, Tennessee swimmer Jordan Crooks, Olympic swimmer Kate Douglass and Purdue basketball’s Zach Edey to win the award.

More: Here are the Iowans who have won the award

“I am incredibly humbled,” Clark said in a school release. “It is an honor to be selected for this prestigious award that elects a student-athlete that excels on the court and in the classroom. All the finalists are equally as deserving. It is special to represent the University of Iowa on this stage.”

Add this to Clark’s long list of accolades obtained after a magical junior season that saw the Hawkeyes reach the national championship game.

Clark also won the 2023 Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year Award, Honda Cup and was named Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year as by THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA). She also won the 2023 Naismith, Wooden and Wade Trophies along with the Associated Press and USBWA Ann Drysdale Player of the Year honors.

She is also a two-time winner of the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award and is the first-ever three-time winner of the Dawn Staley Award. She also won the Honda Sport Award for Basketball in April.

In guiding Iowa to its first Final Four in 30 years, Clark broke the NCAA single-tournament records for most 3-point FG made (24) and most points scored (191). This season, she is the only player in the nation with 1,000 points, 240 rebounds, 310 assists and 45 steals.

Overall, Clark became the first player in Division I women’s basketball history to record more than 1,000 points and 300 assists in the same season and was fastest Division I player (men’s or women’s) to reach 1,500 career points over the last 20 seasons.

“Caitlin Clark is the epitome of what this award represents,” saidJo Mirza, AAU President. “We’re honored to have her name forever entwined with the AAU Sullivan Award and we can’t wait to see what she accomplishes next.”

Previous post EU snubs Spain on adding more official languages
Next post Taylor Swift Puzzle, How to Play 1989 From the Vault Google Game – StyleCaster